Clicky

龙的历史

龙的历史

 - 古代纪录
当前位置: 创造 >> 龙的历史 3
(首先阅读第一部分 龙的历史)

古代文学中的龙
在文学中,龙确实是一个世界性的古代主题。在英国、爱尔兰、丹麦、挪威、斯堪的纳维亚、德国、希腊、罗马、埃及和巴比伦的早期文学中都可以找到龙。在北美的印第安人中,龙的传说兴旺于克里斯族、阿尔冈琴族、昂那大嘎斯族、澳吉布维族、胡仁族、切努克族、首胜族和阿拉斯加爱斯基摩人。

最著名的一则丹麦的龙传说是“奋桑的西格德”中关于“法夫纳之死”。史诗中的英雄西格德害怕龙型巨人法夫纳,因为后者的足迹似乎非常之大。对庞大的恐龙来说这显然是真实的,无论是它们的脚印本身或是它们走动的声音听起来都如此。西格德躲在一个深坑里,当龙爬行到水边时,西格德袭击到龙的心脏。如果人要杀死庞大的恐龙,这是一个聪明的办法,因为人会躲开巨兽有力的尾巴和尖锐、肉食动物的牙齿。可能头部、脖子和心脏是如此庞大身躯中唯一的薄弱环节。大部分恐龙基本上属于水生动物。这个场面中的一切是完全真实的,是猎捕恐龙的优良战术。

西格德害怕被龙的血淹死,这一点也显示了此物之庞大。如果龙从坑口栽下去,西格德被龙血淹死的可能性极大。

当龙前进时,把毒气吹到前面。龙与西格德对话。对话无疑是经过修饰的,这历经数代流传下来的早期民间传说中并不奇怪。西格德的朋友罗京,刨出龙心,让西格德烤熟了给他吃。当罗京的舌头碰到龙血时,他竟能听懂鸟语。这里可能又是修辞,象征着龙代表智慧,早期文学中常出现这种联想。

这个丹麦史诗中的龙和古英文史诗《比沃夫》中的龙都是守护财宝的。我们只能推测这个想法的来源。可能是恐龙劫掠了一些财宝,也可能是人们无法接近恐龙住的地方,因此想象那里装满了财宝。这两个龙出自同一个传说么?我们不得而知。

在《比沃夫》中的无名龙还喷火。龙死后被丈量有十五英尺长。跟法夫纳一样,“地上的居民都惧怕它。”它是个夜行动物,与邪恶有关,被描述为“平滑”和“可恶”。


民间传说中的龙
杀死过龙的希腊英雄有大力士赫流斯、阿波罗和珀尔修斯,世界百科全书(1973)说“每个国家的神话中都有龙”。在挪威神话中,一棵巨大的岑树¬――倚圪树,被认为用来支撑整个宇宙,它有三个极大的根。其中一个伸展到死亡的地域。死人国和龙尼德永无休止地啃咬那树的根。似乎整个宇宙都置于尼德的怜悯中,状态极不稳定;这大概显示了原始挪威人有意识或潜意识地惧怕像恐龙这样的可怕蜥蜴类。如果此类可怖的动物威胁到挪威人的祖先,人们可以很容易看出神话是如何发展而来的。

埃及人写了龙阿珀菲斯,太阳神的敌人。巴比伦人记录了他们对巨兽提阿麦的信仰。挪威人写了林沃,守护瑞金财宝的,后被英雄齐格弗里德所杀。中国人在古书中写了龙,它与力量、繁衍和健康有关。它们也被当作主题用在早期艺术、古代陶器和民间歌舞中。阿芝台克人描绘的长羽毛的大蛇可能是他们想象中的龙和另一种动物的混合。秘鲁古代纳兹卡文化中的陶器展示了非常像龙的一种食肉巨兽。

在英属哥伦比亚,人们认为萨士瓦泊湖是龙沓匝玛的家,科维昌湖是龙清泉的家。在安大略,美米尼沙湖是印第安人所惧怕的似鱼一样的大蛇的著名栖息地。安格是传说中的休仑湖龙,英属哥伦比亚的切努克人相信海楚克幸龙。

龙被爱尔兰的民间传说普遍认可,自然主义学者罗伯特劳伊皮戈说它们是“爱尔兰动物学中得到公认的一部分。”历史学家P.W.乔伊博士在其关于爱尔兰地名的一本书中说,“爱尔兰人有非常古老的水上巨兽的传说”,显示了许多爱尔兰的地名源于当地人对龙的信仰。

阅读 龙的历史 Page 4


喜欢这些信息?使用以下社交媒介与他人分享。 这是什么?




与他人分享:

English  
Social Media
关注我们: 

与他人分享:


科学世界观

化石记录的问题
恐龙化石
恐龙消失
化石记录
辟尔唐人
地球年龄
地球的年龄
辐射计确定日期
龙的历史
Additional Content To Explore...

哲学世界观
真理宣称
有神论
世界宗教创始人
世界宗教
发现真理
热门话题
生活挑战
复原有望
 
 
 
搜索
 
Add 龙的历史 to My Google!
Add 龙的历史 to My Yahoo!
XML Feed: 龙的历史
创造 主页 | 关于我们 | 网站图
版权© 2002 - 2018 AllAboutCreation.org, 保留所有权利。

Dragon History

allaboutcreation
(Read Dragon History Part 1 First)

Dragons in Ancient Literature
In literature, dragons are certainly a virtually universal ancient motif. Dragons are found in the early literature of the English, Irish, Danish, Norse, Scandinavians, Germans, Greeks, Romans, Egyptians and Babylonians. Among the American Indians, legends of dragons flourished among the Crees, Algonquins, Onondagas, Ojibways, Hurons, Chinooks, Shoshones, and Alaskan Eskimos.

One of the most famous Danish dragon tales is from "Sigurd of the Volsungs" and concerns "The Slaying of Fafnir." Sigurd, the hero of the epic, is afraid of Fafnir the dragon because his tracks seem great. This surely would have been true of the large dinosaurs, whether the footprints themselves, or the sound of their approach were being considered. Sigurd hides in a pit, and when the dragon crawls to the water, he strikes up into its heart. Again, if a man were to slay a large dinosaur, this would be an intelligent way to do it, for one would be out of the way of the creature's powerful tail and sharp, meat-rending teeth. Probably the head, neck and heart were the only truly vulnerable areas on the huge body. Most dinosaurs were basically water creatures. Therefore, everything in this scene is totally realistic, and makes good dinosaur-hunting strategy.

Sigurd is afraid he will drown in the dragon's blood, which may be another indication as to the size of the creature. If the dragon had fallen over the mouth of the pit, Sigurd's drowning in its blood would have been a distinct possibility.

As the dragon approaches, it blows poison before it. The dragon talks to Sigurd. In the talking we undoubtedly have some embellishment, but this is not surprising in an early folk tale that was passed down for uncounted generations. Sigurd's friend, Regin, cuts out the dragon's heart, and asks Sigurd to roast it and serve it to him. When Regin touches the dragon's blood to his to his tongue, he understands the speech of birds. Here again we probably have an embellishment, perhaps associating dragons in a symbolic way with wisdom, a frequent association in early literature.

Both the dragon in this early Danish epic and the dragon in the Old English epic, Beowulf, guard a treasure. We can only speculate as to the origin of this idea. It's possible that a dinosaur did in fact make off with some loot, or it's possible that the abode of dinosaurs was so unapproachable that ancient peoples imagined their dens to be loaded with treasures. Did the two dragons come from the same early legend? We do not know.

The unnamed dragon in Beowulf also vomits flames. It is fifty feet long, as measured after its death. As with Fafnir, "earth dwellers much dread him." He is a night creature, associated with evil, and described as "smooth" and "hateful."

Dragons in Legend and Folklore
Greek heroes who are supposed to have slain dragons are Hercules, Apollo, and Perseus. Indeed, the World Book Encyclopedia (1973) says "every country had them in its mythology." In Norse mythology, a Great Ash Tree, Yggdrasil, which was thought to support the whole universe, had three immense roots. One extended into the region of death. Niflheim and the dragon Nidhogg perpetually gnawed at the root of the tree. This precarious situation, which seems to place the whole universe at Nidhogg's mercy, perhaps shows the conscious or subconscious deeply rooted fear of the proto-norse for dinosaurs, those terrible lizards. If the fearsome creatures were threatening the ancestors of the Norse peoples, one can easily see how such a myth could have developed.

The Egyptians wrote of the dragon Apophis, enemy of the sun god Re. The Babylonians recorded their belief in the monster Tiamat. The Norse people wrote of Lindwurm, guardian of the treasure of Rheingold, who was killed by the hero Siegfried. The Chinese wrote of dragons in their ancient book, I Ching, associating the creatures with power, fertility, and well being. They also used dragons in early art, ancient pottery, folk pageantry and dances as a motif. The Aztecs' plumed serpent may have represented a hybrid in their thought between a dragon and another creature. The pottery of ancient Nazca culture of Peru shows a cannibal monster much like a dragon.

In British Columbia, Lake Sashwap is believed to be home to the dragon Ta Zam-a, and Lake Cowichan to Tshingquaw. In Ontario, Lake Meminisha is the reputed home of a fish-like serpent feared by the Cree Indians. Angoub is the legendary Huron dragon, Hiachuckaluck the dragon believed in by the Chinooks of British Columbia.

Dragons are so widely accepted a part of Irish folklore that Robert Lloyd Praeger, naturalist, says they are "an accepted part of Irish zoology." Dr. P.W. Joyce, historian, in his book on Irish place-names, says, "legends of aquatic monsters are very ancient among the Irish people" and shows that many Irish place names resulted from a belief in these dragons.

Read Dragon History Page 4 Now!


Like this information? Help us by sharing it with others. What is this?